Introducing the Seven Standards for Quality Control

Our Thinking / Healthcare /

Introducing the Seven Standards for Quality Control
Calendar19 February 2016

This week the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP) announced a set of seven standard areas in which the quality of physicians should be measured, ranging from primary care to treatment of patients with cancer or AIDS. This is the first time the two organizations have collaborated on such an initiative, which will not only standardize quality measures and contribute to compensation and pay-related decisions, but will also reduce the administrative burden that many doctors currently face in terms of reporting their outcomes and other metrics of success to insurers and Medicare; in the current system, doctors often have to fill out many different, sometimes duplicative, requests for quality data from the various insurers with which they have contracts. We see this move as a great step forward for the shift to value-based care, but keep in mind, CMS said the measures will be implemented in several stages. For instance, commercial health plans will implement the core measures when contracts come up for renewal or if existing contracts allow modification of the performance measure set. CMS and partner organizations intend to add more measure sets and update the current sets over time. We encourage employers to discuss timing and possible impact with your health plan partners and transparency tool providers.

Go to full article:

  Register for Mercer US Health News to receive weekly e-mail updates.
*Required Fields